September, full of Grace

As so many have stated in the fashion world, Anna Wintour is a name that strikes both fear and fascination into the minds and hearts of everyone in the industry. She, of course, is the Editor-in-Chief of Vogue and is credited for much of the direction of fashion in this day and age.

I recently finished watching ‘The September Issue’ after a friend struck my interest. Initially I had heard much buzz about the movie, but couldn’t muster up the time to watch it. Through a series of events, I did finally manage to plop down and finish the film. ‘The September Issue’ is director R.J. Cutler’s most recent film documenting the September 2007 Vogue issue. Although marketed as a look into the life of Anna Wintour and Vogue itself, the true hero you find in the film is Grace Coddington, Vogue’s Creative Director and former runway model. One can’t help but cheer on Grace in her constant crusade to fight for the unforgotten romance and magic that fashion editorials have long brought into the hearts of women across the globe.

As a stylist and lover of fantastical, romantic, and beautiful things myself, I found myself inspired by Grace. I could agree with so many things she said, her inspiration, her vision, and her cause in the film. As much as I know about fashion, the truth is I know nothing at all. Clothes are brilliant, but it’s the stories, the placement, the art, that speaks through.

Grace Coddington, Creative Director of Vogue

Grace Coddington, Creative Director of Vogue

Grace Coddington in Nina Ricci by John French, 1965

Grace Coddington in Nina Ricci by John French, 1965

Grace Coddington herself is often found shying away from the spotlight, but anyone who has ever picked up Vogue, or even visited foto_decadent on Livejournal will find that they have been thrust into her world and stylings many times over.

Raquel Zimmerman by David Sims, Styled by Grace Coddington

Raquel Zimmerman by David Sims, Styled by Grace Coddington

Raquel Zimmerman by David Sims, styled by Grace Coddington

Raquel Zimmerman by David Sims, styled by Grace Coddington

Alice in Wonderland Shoot by Annie Leibowitz, styled by Grace Coddington

Alice in Wonderland Shoot by Annie Leibowitz, styled by Grace Coddington

Coco Rocha by Steven Meisel, styled by Grace Coddington

Coco Rocha by Steven Meisel, styled by Grace Coddington

It is hard not to love Grace Coddington when she continually gives the world her amazing and fantastic fashion narratives.

In the end, the movie did not succeed in making me any more interested in Anna Wintour, nor did it give me any new insight on Vogue or the fashion industry. However, it gave me a face to all the wonderful art, styling, and photography that has captured my imagination and continually inspired me as an artist for the past 28 years of my own life. I can’t say the movie wasn’t worth it; it definitely was worth the hour or so I spent, if not more.

-Yume Ninja

4 thoughts on “September, full of Grace

  1. totally want to watch this because there’s so much awesome stuff about the photography aspect! x: and just the whole lifestyle seems interesting. πŸ™‚

    • the photography and Grace alone makes this whole movie worth watching. Seriously while I watched it, she said so many things about fashion and art that I agreed on. Her inspiration and views on what should be put out and how to go about it was insanely what I have always aspired to do.

      If anything, i walked away from this movie with a new hero.

  2. Coco Rocha has to be one of my favorite photoshoots of all time. It manages to take very modern pieces and make them look retro without getting cheesy. The whole aesthetic is gorgeous.

    • You mean the Steven Meisel photograph of Coco? I love Coco Rocha as a model, her shoots are usually spectacular. I think its the intensity she has in her face.

      Steven Meisel didn’t allow camera men onto his set (i think the shoot itself was called Paris, Je T’aime) but it was simply amazing.

      I was so sad when Anna Wintour cut the best group shot! it was so freaking wonderful, but 😦 i had to agree that some of them just didn’t fit together well as a spread.

      STILL it was such a gorgeous shot.

Leave a Reply

