The Mind Behind Sweet Streets

Tonight’s the night! As you all know, Sweet Streets 2 is opening tonight at Gallery Nucleus! If you’re thinking of missing out, think again!

Tonight’s show will open up at 7PM  and conclude at 11PM. It will not only feature a collection of fun and fantastic artwork inspired by Japanese Street Fashion, but also include a fun fashion show and debut from Japanese Fashion Label 6%DokiDoki.

We got a chance to sit down and quickly chat with Caro, the busy dark-haired brain behind the Sweet Streets show. Not only is Caro curating the show, but also a photographer, and American represenative of Shibuya Girls Pop, a Japanese Artist Collective.

Caro

­

1 . Name/Blogs or Sites you own/What do you do full time? What are your other side projects at the moment?

My career began in high school, when I co-released records for Ivy League, members of Cobra Starship, and Acid House Kings.

I took on a lot of side projects in 2010, SWEET STREETS being the one that helped me define myself- through curating. I discovered Japanese artist collective “Shibuya Girls Pop” (http://www.shibuyagirlspop.com) which I proceed to manage professionally.  These girls are my full-time job.

Recently, I discovered photography (http://hihicaro.blogspot.com) which brought me full circle, photographing bands like The Young Veins, Polysics, and Melt-Banana.

Currently I’m scheming with my favorite magazine to produce mix tapes. Each, featuring a new fine artist and the music they create.

2 . What originally inspired your idea for the Sweet Streets shows?

There is no doubt that Japanese pop culture is making a huge impression on artists.  I wanted to get my favorite artists together and have a conversation about not only the influence of Japanese Pop Culture on Western Art, but also Japanese street fashion.

SWEET STREETS, on the surface, is an art exhibition inspired by Japanese street fashion.  To me, it’s also a show celebrating creative expression that was inspired by creative expression.  I think that is a really interesting abstract idea.

3 . What did you most enjoy about the first Sweet Streets Show?

My favorite part about the SWEET STREETS exhibit is producing the music compilation.  It is my own creative contribution to the exhibit.  The CD features exclusive tracks by my favorite indie Japanese music artists who are also relevant to the street fashion culture.  The most rewarding aspect is the great friendships I have made through this ongoing project.

Caro with Bubble Punch, Sebastian Masuda of 6%Dokidoki, and friends

4 . How is this year’s show different from last years? How will this show continue to evolve in the future?

SWEET STREETS 2 feels like my first year as a curator.   Being so young and new to curating last year, I limited my responsibilities. It was the gallery who championed the exhibit in the end.

This year, I was very hands-on and involved in every level of the show. From handpicking the artists, brainstorming themes and entertainment, taking flights to Tokyo to check on artwork in progress, and even overseeing 6%DOKIDOKI’s runway show.

We are happy to announce that Sweet Streets 2011 has been green lit. The show will be back in 2011, so look out for future updates about our exciting events for next year!

5 . How long have you been interested in Japan and Japanese Pop Culture? What is it that’s fascinating to you?

Japanese Pop Culture is fascinating as a contemporary culture that looks back to the past while also moving forward.  I’ve became interested in Japan while working in the music industry, which introduced me to Japanese talent and pop culture – my favorite aspect being anything “kawaii”.

Working with the Shibuya Girls Pop artist collective, focusing on “Real Japanese kawaii”, helps me understand it as a positive lifestyle expressed by modern Japanese girls.

6 . What are you most excited about this year for Sweet Streets Show?

SWEET STREETS is all of my favorite things under one roof, but I am especially excited about 6%DOKIDOKI’s involvement and supporting “Shibuya Girls Pop” in their first American exhibition.  It’s both humbling and incredibly important for the  exhibition to have a piece of street fashion culture represented.  Bonus, I get to do fun stuff like eat cotton candy with the 6%DokiDoki shop girls.

7 . Other interesting projects you have planned for yourself and LA?

Moving into 2011, I already have my mind set on the SWEET STREETS 3 exhibition and SWEET STREETS LLC., a company that I created to manage the “Shibuya Girls Pop” collective.  “Shibuya Girls Pop” is preparing its first major launch party and exhibition in America.  For myself, this means more trips to Japan.  For Los Angeles, it means more awesome art and Japanese fashion craziness.

For more information on the show please visit the Sweet Streets Blog. See you guys tonight!!

6 thoughts on “The Mind Behind Sweet Streets

Leave a Reply

